Category: Sports

Tainted Trio Admits to Money, But Claim was Sponsorship Fees

Three Pakistani cricketers – captain Salman Butt and pacers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir – under the scanner for spot-fixing, have reportedly admitted before the Scotland Yard inquiry that the British currency recovered from their hotel rooms was given to them by bookie Mazhar Majeed.
However, the players have maintained that the money was given to them on account of sponsorship contracts that they had signed with different commercial organisations, GEO TV reported.
The players also stated that Majeed was working as their agent to secure sponsorship deals and they did not know that he was a book-maker.

Legalise Sports Betting In India Suggests Court

While observing that police have not been able to stop illegal betting, Additional Sessions Judge Dharmesh Sharma of Delhi Court suggested that the government should consider legalizing sports betting so that not only transfer of funds would be monitored but revenue could be generated for the welfare of public.
“It does not need divine eyes to see that ‘satta’ in cricket and other games is reaching an alarming situation. The extent of money that it generated is diverted to clandestine and sinister objectives like drug trafficking and terrorist activities,” said Dharmesh.

Villiers Dethrones Dhoni as Top Batsman

South African batsman AB de Villiers has displaced India’s captain MS Dhoni as the top ODI batsman according to the latest ICC ratings. de Villiers, who averages 43.56 in 101 ODIs, had a prolific season that took him to 805 points in the ratings, nine clear of Dhoni. Michael Hussey, the Australian batsman, was third on the list with 792 points.
de Villiers amassed 667 runs in his last 10 ODIs, which included four centuries and two fifties against top opposition. Three of those centuries came in consecutive games, in Gwalior, Ahmedabad and Antigua. Though de Villiers did not play in August, Dhoni’s patchy form in the Sri Lanka triangular series, where he scored only 140 runs in five outings, led to the swap at the top.

Tainted Pak Players Face Inquiry

Captain Salman Butt and bowlers Mohammad Aamir and Mohammad Asif did not join their team-mates for practice on Tuesday as they prepared for the inquiry by Pakistan Cricket Board.Pakistan team...

Match Fixing Scandal Gets Murkier

More skeletons tumbled out bringing the entire Pakistan team under cloud of match fixing as the investigations progressed and the International Cricket Committee had a teleconference over the issue.
It is now believed that even the opening Test match between England and Pakistan at Nottingham that England won by a huge 354 runs.
Reports also allege that the Pakistan-Australia series played in Sydney in January this year was also fixed.

Pak Hit With Match Fixing Once Again

Pakistan’s cricket team came under the scanner once again for match fixing following the arrest of a bookie in London. Scotland Yard has confiscated the mobile phones of Captain Salman Butt and bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Aamir while Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari as sought for a report on the incident.
The News of the World a British tabloid revealed that it had paid money to the bookie Mazhar Majeed to bribe Pakistan players to bowl no balls in the ongoing series and the Lord’s Test.

Sri Lanka Thrash India to Win Tri-Series

Hosts Sri Lanka thrashed India to win the tri-series tournament by bundling out the visitors who were chasing their score of 200 for 225 in 46.5 overs. India’s defeat on Saturday also meant that Indian Captain M S Dhoni lost his personal record of not losing any one day series since he took over the captaincy.
For Sri Lanka the result was sweet revenge as it had lost to India in the Asia Cup finals in June this year.

Sehwag Backs Youngsters

For young Indian batsmen under scanner for their performance at the tri-series in Sri Lanka, the support of seniors is a great morale booster. Close on heels of Captain M S Dhoni’s statement that he was not too concerned about the batting collapse, Virender Sehwag too has backed the youngsters.
The total runs scored by the youngsters – Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli – is just 94 in the whole tournaments and India has managed to storm into the finals only on the strength of Sehwag’s batting.

India Storm Into Finals

Virender Sehwag once again rose to the task to lead India into the finals of the Tri-series under way at Sri Lanka as Team India thrashed New Zealand by 105 runs.
Sehwag scored 110 to make this his 13th century at ODI thereby giving India a comfortable score of 223 at the close of its innings. The Indian bowlers completed the task by scalping New Zealand batsman who could score only 118 in reply to the Indian score.

Scindia wins first MP cricket panel election

Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Jyotiraditya Scindia yesterday scored an emphatic victory in the first-ever Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association elections. MPCA’s office-bearers have been decided by consensus since 1981 when Madhavrao Scindia became president for the first time, and the practice continued when his son Jyotiraditya took over as president in 2004.