Category: Sports

Sri Lanka Thrash India to Win Tri-Series

Hosts Sri Lanka thrashed India to win the tri-series tournament by bundling out the visitors who were chasing their score of 200 for 225 in 46.5 overs. India’s defeat on Saturday also meant that Indian Captain M S Dhoni lost his personal record of not losing any one day series since he took over the captaincy.
For Sri Lanka the result was sweet revenge as it had lost to India in the Asia Cup finals in June this year.

Sehwag Backs Youngsters

For young Indian batsmen under scanner for their performance at the tri-series in Sri Lanka, the support of seniors is a great morale booster. Close on heels of Captain M S Dhoni’s statement that he was not too concerned about the batting collapse, Virender Sehwag too has backed the youngsters.
The total runs scored by the youngsters – Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli – is just 94 in the whole tournaments and India has managed to storm into the finals only on the strength of Sehwag’s batting.

India Storm Into Finals

Virender Sehwag once again rose to the task to lead India into the finals of the Tri-series under way at Sri Lanka as Team India thrashed New Zealand by 105 runs.
Sehwag scored 110 to make this his 13th century at ODI thereby giving India a comfortable score of 223 at the close of its innings. The Indian bowlers completed the task by scalping New Zealand batsman who could score only 118 in reply to the Indian score.

Scindia wins first MP cricket panel election

Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Jyotiraditya Scindia yesterday scored an emphatic victory in the first-ever Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association elections. MPCA’s office-bearers have been decided by consensus since 1981 when Madhavrao Scindia became president for the first time, and the practice continued when his son Jyotiraditya took over as president in 2004.

ICC Test World Cup on the anvil

A tournament for declaring the world’s best team in Test cricket may finally become reality. The International cricket Council will decide on a two-yearly tournament-like world Test championship – as opposed to the current rolling format – at a meeting of chief executives of cricket boards at Cape Town next month.

England in the summer of 2013 is among the leading candidates to host the inaugural competition.

India suffers biggest ODI defeat

Sri Lanka stormed into the finals of the tri-series with a magnificent eight wicket victory and in the bargain humbled India who suffered their biggest ODI defeat in terms of balls remaining.
In what was a totally one-sided game, the Indian team was bundled out for only 103 in 33.4 overs with Thisara Perera proving to be the devastator for Sri Lanka as he took five wickets and gave away only 28 runs.

BCCI defers decision on IPL-4

The Governing Council of the Indian Premier League has deferred its decision on the number of games in the league from next year.

At its meeting here on Friday, the members decided to take up the matter in September despite having unanimity on the need to reduce the number of matches drastically from the original number of 94. “We have decided to not have any discussion on the matter. It will be decided in September,” said IPL vice-chairman Niranjan Shah. In the run-up to the meeting, there were indications that the BCCI will settle for 73 or 74 matches.

Pakistan in control of Oval test match

Pakistan are in control of the third Test match against England at The Oval after close of play on the third day.
When play was called off early because of bad light, the home sides were struggling on 221 for nine wickets, a lead of just 146 runs with one wicket remaining.

Stuart Broad is six not out and Steven Finn nought not out as England will look to add some more runs to their total on Saturday.

IPL no of matches to be reviewed

The format of the Indian Premier League 2011 tournament will be decided at the IPC Government Council meeting to be held later in the day today with the focus being on reducing the load on players.

Although closing of accounts will be the main item on the agenda, the number of games to be played is also expected to be discussed.

In race for ICC awards

Seven persons are in the race for each of the categories for the ICC awards as the nominees list was released today. India’s Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and M S Dhoni are nominated in all three major individual categories – Cricketer of the Year, Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year.