Current Affairs

11 Cong sitting MLAs shown the door

In a major defeat to the Congress party in the Goa Assembly elections, 11 of its sitting MLAs were shown the door.

Sports Minister Manohar (Babu) Azgaonkar lost from Pernem which was won by the BJP candidate Rajendra Arlekar. Filipe Neri Rodrigues lost out to the BJP supported independent Benjamin D’Silva in Velim. Shyam Saterdekar lost out to a former friend now BJP candidate Nilesh Cabral in Curchorem.

Heavy weight Alexio Sequeira who was also the power and environment minister lost out to Francisco (Mickky) Pacheco in Nuvem. And Aldona claimed Supremo Dayanand Narvekar lost out to new-comer BJP’s Christian candidate Glenn Ticklo. Yet another big Congress candidate and Home Minister Ravi Naik lost out to the MGP candidate Lavoo Mamledar.

Calangute MLA Agnelo Fernandes lost out to another new comer and a Christian candidate of the BJP from Calangute Michael Lobo. Churchill Alemao – the scion of the Alemao family in Navelim also lost out to the BJP supported new comer Avertano Furtado. And following in the footsteps of the this brother Urban Development minister Joaquim Alemao lost out to BJP candidate Rajan Naik in Cuncolim. Similarily, Francisco Silveria also lost out to BJP Vishnu Wagh in St Andre.

Congress MLA Pratap Gawas lost out to Pramod Sawant in the Sanquelim constituency.

Joining the Congress its alliance partner NCP’s two sitting MLAs Nilkanth Halarnkar from Thivim and Jose Philip DeSouza from Vasco also lost out to BJP candidates Kiran Kandolkar and Carlos Almeida.


Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker