Current AffairsIndiaIndia

21,855 nominations for Padma Awards 2019

New Delhi, Aug 28 (UNI) The online nominations and recommendations for the 2019 Padma Awards has already crossed the 21,855 of which 21,228 registrations have been completed, a Home Ministry release said here on Tuesday.

The nomination was declared open on May 1, 2018.

The process was opened on May 1 for nomination or recommendation. The Award will be announced on Republic Day next year. The last day for nomination is September 15, 2018.

Nominations have been invited from Central Ministries, Departments, States and UT Governments, Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan awardees, Institutes of Excellence as also from several other sources to enable broad based consideration.

The nominations and recommendations for the Padma Awards are being received online only on the Padma portal All citizens can make nomination or recommendation including self-nomination.

The nominations or recommendations should contain all relevant details specified in the format available on the above said website, including a citation in narrative form clearly bringing out the distinguished and exceptional achievements or service of the person recommended in her or his respective field or discipline.

While recommending a person online, it should be ensured that all the necessary details are filled properly.

The Padma Awards, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri, are amongst the highest civilian awards of the country. Instituted in 1954, these Awards are announced on the occasion of the Republic Day every year.

The award seeks to recognise ‘work of distinction’ and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements, service in all fields, disciplines, such as Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social Work, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry.

“All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these Awards. Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.”, the Ministry said in the statement.

“Efforts may be made to identify talented persons from amongst women, weaker sections of the society, SCs and STs, divyang persons who deserve to be considered for the award”, the release further said.

Government servants including those working with PSUs, except Doctors and Scientists, are not eligible for Padma Awards.

Savio Rodrigues

Savio Rodrigues Founder & Editor-in-Chief

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker