2nd Test: Bumrah, Ashwin put India on top against Australia on Day 1

Melbourne: Jasprit Bumrah and R Ashwin starred with the ball, while Shubman Gill scored an impressive 28 not out as India, after bowling out Australia for 195, ended Day of the second Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at 36/1 at the MCG, here on Saturday.

Having to negotiate 11 overs before stumps, India lost opener Mayank Agarwal for a duck as he was trapped in the front by Mitchel Starc in the first over.

But Gill, after getting a reprieve, played some attractive shots to score 28 as he and Cheteshwar Pujara held fort to take India to 36/1 at Stumps, trailing by 159 runs.

Earlier, Australia captain Tim Paine won the toss and opted to bat first.

Australia did not have the best of starts at the Melbourne Cricket Ground as Jasprit Bumrah struck in his third over of the morning as Joe Burns edged one to the wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant.

Matthew Wade, his opening partner, had a slightly better day. However, India introduced R Ashwin into the attack in the 11th over and he got his first wicket in his second over, dismissing Matthew Wade for 30 after Ravindra Jadeja completed a fine catch.

The off-spinner then gave India a massive breakthrough as he got Steve Smith out for the second time in the series. The Australian right-hander was caught at leg-slip for a duck – his first against Indian in Test cricket.

While India continued to keep things tight, Marnus Labuschagne, who survived a couple of close calls, and Travis Head took Australia to 65/3 at lunch on Day 1.

The two continued their good work and showed solid resolve, guiding the hosts from 38/3 to 124/3.

However, Bumrah broke the 86-run stand between Labuschagne and Head after skipper Ajinkya Rahane took a sharp catch to give India their fourth wicket.

The moment of the game for Test debutant Mohammad Siraj came two overs before lunch. He claimed his maiden Test wicket in the 50th over. Labuschagne flicked one to backward square leg to Shubman Gill, who did well to hold on to a low catch, before Australia moved to 136/5 at tea.

Tim Paine survived a close run-out shout in the final session. But, India continued to dominate the proceedings, dismissing Cameron Green and Paine. While Siraj got Green out LBW, R Ashwin had Paine caught at backward short-leg to reduce Australia to 155/7.

Mitchell Starc was done in by a sharp Bumrah bouncer as Australia lost their eighth wicket. Although Nathan Lyon and Pat Cummins played a few shots, Bumrah and Jadeja got Lyon and Cummins out respectively as India bowled out Australia for 195.

Brief Scores: Australia 195 all out (Marnus Labuschagne 48, Travis Head 38; Jasprit Bumrah 4/56, R Ashwin 3/35) lead India 36/1 (Shubman Gill 28*, Cheteshwar Pujara 7*; Mitchell Starc 1/14) by 159 runs.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker