Breaking NewsCurrent AffairsGoa

4 newly-elected MLAs sworn-in in Goa

Panaji, May 28 (GCCurrentAffairs) Four newly-elected MLAs were sworn-in at Assembly complex near the city on Tuesday.

The MLAs namely Subhash Shirodkar, Joshua D’Souza, Dayanand Sopte and Atanasio Monserrate were administered oath of office and secrecy by Assembly Speaker Michael Lobo.

While Mr Shirodkar, Mr Sopte and Mr Joshua belong to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Mr Monserrate is from Congress.

With swearing in of the MLAs, strength of the House, which had got reduced to 36, has been restored to 40. Now number of BJP MLAs in the state assembly has gone up to 17 while number of Congress MLAs stood at 15.

Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar, Deputy Chief Minister Manohar Ajgaonkar, among others, attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker