Current AffairsIndia

Annular solar eclipse on June 21

Hyderabad: Annular solar eclipse, the first visible eclipse of the decade, will occur on Sunday.

An annular eclipse occurs when the Sun and Moon are exactly in line, but the apparent size of the Moon is smaller than that of the Sun. Hence the Sun appears as a very bright ring, or annulus, surrounding the outline of the Moon, Planetary Society of India (PSI) Director N Sri Raghunandan Kumar told UNI.

He said though annular phase (popularly known as Ring of Fire) eclipse will only be visible in few places of Northern India, the rest of the country will observe it as partial solar eclipse.

The eclipse in various phases will occur between 9.16 am IST (3.46 am UTC) to 3.04 pm IST (9.34 am UTC), wherein Greatest Phase of Eclipse is at 12.10 pm IST (6.40 am UTC).

In India, depending on the location of a person from Central path, the eclipse, mostly in partial phases, will be visible between 9.56 am to 2.29 pm

Mr Kumar said across the world, the eclipse can be seen in the region covering Africa (except Western and Southern parts), South East Europe, Middle East, Asia (except North and Eastern Russia), Indonesia etc.

Back to top button
X

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker