Yuva - India

Assam Election Results: BJP again

The BJP-led NDA is set to form government in Assam.


The 2021 Assam Legislative Assembly election witnessed a thrilling finish with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leading in 60 seats, and its partners- Asom Gana Parishad is ahead by 9 and United People’s Party, Liberal in seven constituencies. Congress candidates are leading with 29 seats, while those of its ally AIUDF in 16 and Bodoland People’s Front in 4.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal won from Majuli constituency, Finance, and Health Minister and BJP’s star campaigner Himanta Biswa Sarma won from Jalukbari for the fifth straight term. Incarcerated anti-CAA activist Akhil Gogoi won from Sibsagar, according to Assam assembly election results.

Sonowal said the people had blessed them. “A victory for Barak-Brahmaputra, Hills & Plains. Thank you Hon’ble PM Narendra Modi,” he said. “We can say for sure that the BJP will form government in Assam. We are coming back to power with our partners AGP and UPPL,” Sonowal told reporters. Sarma said the BJP will soon form the government in the state and the party will decide who will be made the next chief minister.

The BJP had projected the then Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal as its chief minister before the assembly polls in 2016, but the ruling party did not announce any name for the top post this time. Speculations were rife that Himanta Biswa Sarma would be the new CM.

Sonowal or Sarma? Who will become the next Assam CM?

Although there was no doubt that the ruling BJP-led alliance in Assam will form the government, there was little clarity about the next chief minister in the state.

BJP leaders in Assam pushed the ball to the party’s parliamentary board, headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi even as the saffron party and its allies on Sunday headed towards absolute majority in the Assembly.

Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma added to the mystery by declaring only that the next CM would be from the BJP, without naming Sarbananda Sonowal, the CM of the outgoing government.

Sonowal, who retained his seat for the second time from the Majuli constituency, polled 71,436 votes (67.53 percent), while the Congress candidate, Rajib Lochan Pegu has to his credit 28,244 votes (26.7 percent), according to the Election Commission of India website.

Assam Health Minister and senior state leader Himanta Biswa Sarma won from the Jalukbari constituency with a huge margin of over one lakh votes.

Sarma won the seat for the fifth time.

Congress shattered after loss

Congress workers hoped that their party would improve its tally and form the government in Assam, resuscitating the grand old party to regain its bastion of Northeast India. Their hopes were shattered on Sunday as the Congress won only 29 seats in 126-member assembly, which is just an extra three seats

The Congress which had hopes of forming the government had invested a lot in the election. It overrode the claims of its party to ally with the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), led by Badruddin Ajmal, for the first time.

Lalhruaitluanga Bawitlung, Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee secretary told, “We keenly followed the Assam polls as the political developments in Assam have a fallout across the region. It is heartening that Congress has fought well in Assam and increased its seat tally.”

“We were expecting a Congress-led government to come to power. However, that did not happen,” he added.

The Congress is leading in 29 seats, while its partners, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), lead in 14 seats.

The BJP is looking to create history in the state by becoming the only non-Congress government to win consecutive terms.

CAA failed to hurt BJP, Congress did not benefit by opposing it

When anti-Citizenship (Amendment) Act (CAA) protests rocked Assam in December 2019 and five people were killed in police firing, it appeared the issue could damage the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led coalition’s hopes of retaining power in the state. The results of the assembly elections on Sunday belied the dent the issue was expected to cause to the party’s base in the state.

Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and Raijor Dal, the two parties formed as an outcome of the anti-CAA protests, won only one seat.

Congress took a strong anti-CAA stance and promised it will not implement the legislation in Assam if it came to power. It was part of the party’s five guarantees to the voters. The Congress was leading on 28 seats and its ally All India United Democratic Front on 14 and Bodoland People’s Front in 2.

The BJP is set to form the government for the second consecutive time in Assam. It has won 60 out of the total 126 seats. Asom Gana Parishad and United People’s Party, Liberal, were ahead on 11 and 8 seats.

Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted:

After the #AssamPolls results are out, I humbly urge all to kindly follow restraint and do not get together for celebrations. Please let’s all remember we are amid the #COVID19 pandemic and how Hon PM Sri @narendramodi is leading this battle from the front.

Rajnath Singh congratulated PM Modi, CM Sonowal on BJP’s victory:

The pro-people policies of the Shri @narendramodi led Govt & the state Govt under @sarbanandsonwal have once again helped the BJP in winning assembly elections in Assam. Congratulations to PM Modi, CM Sonowal, Adhyaksh Shri @JPNadda & karyakartas on BJP’s impressive victory in Assam.

Narendra Modi expressed his gratitude towards the citizens of Assam by tweeting:  “The people of Assam have again blessed the NDA’s development agenda and the pro-people track record of our Government in the state. I thank the people of Assam for the blessings. I appreciate the hard work of NDA Karyakartas and their untiring efforts in serving the people.”

Pratheeksha Pawaskar

Intern, Goa Chronicle Law student, University of Mysore. Criminal Psychology and Constitutional Law are subjects of my personal interest. More of a “Philomath” (sucker for knowledge) with a great sense of humour. Always standing up for what is right.

DISCLAIMER: This article reflects author’s view point. Goa Chronicle may or may not subscribe to views of the author

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker