Current AffairsIndia

Bengal Cong comes out with a list of eleven candidates for LS poll

Kolkata, Mar 19 (GCCurrentAffairs) The West Bengal Congress on Tuesday announced the list of eleven candidates for the coming Lok Sabha election.

After the talks on an alliance with the Left Front in in the state failed, the Congress has decided to go it alone in Lok Sabha elections in the state, setting at rest speculation over an electoral understanding between the two.

The names of eleven candidates are:

CoochBehar: Piya Roychowdhury

Alipurduar: Mohanlal Basumata

Jalpaiguri: Manikumar Darnal

Darjeeling: Shankar Malakar

Raiganj: Dipa Dashmunsi

Balurghat: Sadik Sarkar

North Maldah: Isha Khan Chowdhury

South Maldah: Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury

Jangipur- Abhijit Mukhopadhyay

Murshidabad – Abu Hena

Baharampur – Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

A few days ago, the Left Front announced its list of candidates for 25 of the state’s 42 Parliamentary seats.

The list included the name of Congress leader Dr Rezaul Karim.

Karim is the chairman of the state Medical Cell of the Congress.

However, the list did not mention Karim as a Left candidate, but as an Independent candidate from the Birbhum seat.

With the failure of chance of an alliance, there will be multi-cornered contest in the state.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker