Current AffairsIndia

Bengal to vote for 35 seats in final phase of assembly polls on Thursday

Kolkata: Amid massive security blanket, voting for the eighth and final phase of crucial West Bengal Assembly elections will be held on Thursday for 35 seats of the state’s 294 constituencies to decide the fate of 283 candidates.

The ruling Trinamool Congress’s performance in this phase would prove crucial in deciding whether Mamata Banerjee would return as the Bengal chief minister on May 2 for the third consecutive term.

In the final phase of polling, elections will be held in 4 districts and 35 assembly seats. The districts include Malda Part II, Kolkata North, Murshidabad Part II and Birbhum on April 29.

The thirty-five Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal going to polls in the eighth phase are 1.

Manikchak 2. Maldaha (SC) 3. English Bazar 4. Mothabari 5. Sujapur 6. Baisnabnagar 7. Khargram (SC) 8. Burwan (SC) 9. Kandi 10. Bharatpur 11. Rejinagar 12. Beldanga 13.

Baharampur 14. Hariharpara 15. Nowda 16. Domkal 17. Jalangi 18. Chowrangee 19. Entally

20. Beleghata 21. Jorasanko 22. Shyampukur 23. Maniktala 24. Kashipur-Belgachhia 25.

Dubrajpur (SC) 26. Suri 27. Bolpur 28. Nanoor (SC) 29. Labpur 30. Sainthia (SC) 31.

Mayureswar 32. Rampurhat 33. Hansan 34. Nalhati 35. Murarai.

During the final Phase, a total of 283 candidates including 35 women will be vying for the 35 Assembly seats spread over four districts of West Bengal going to polls in this phase.

A total of 84,77,728 voters — 43,55,835 men, 41,21,735 women and 158 of the third gender —are eligible to decide the fate of 283 candidates in Thursday’s polling which will be held in six constituencies of Malda, 11 in Murshidabad, seven in Kolkata North and 11 in Birbhum, the Election Commission sources said.

Voting will be held between 7.00 am and 6.30 pm and total of 11, 860 Polling Stations have been set up for this purpose.

The prominent candidates participating in this phase include state minister for Women and Child Development and Social Welfare Shashi Panja is contesting against BJP’s Sandipan Biswas and AIFB’s Jiban Prakash Saha in Shyampukur seat.

The TMC has named Atin Ghosh in Kashipur-Belgachia against BJP candidate Sibaji Sinha Roy and CPI(M)’s Pratip Dasgupta.

In Jorasnko, BJP has named Meena Devi Purohit against TMC’s Vivek Gupta and Congress’ Ajmal Khan.

In Beleghata, TMC has fielded Paresh Paul against BJP’s Kashinath Biswas and CPI-M’s Rajib Biswas.

A close contest is also expected in the Maniktala assembly seat where state Consumer Affairs Minister TMC veteran Sadhan Pandey will fight former India footballer and BJP candidate Kalyan Chaubey and CPI (M)’s Rupa Bagchi.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker