Current Affairs

CM Presents Goa Scholars’ Awards

Chief Minister Digambar Kamat disclosed that Goa Scholars’ Scheme will be modified during the next academic year to include more meritorious students from financially weak backgrounds, after distributing Goa Scholars awards to 11 students held at the Secretariat, Porvorim on Monday.
This year, in all, 66 students had applied for this scheme implemented by the Directorate of Higher Education,Goa, out of which 11 students pursuing higher studies in India and abroad were selected.

A committee under the Chairmanship of Atomic Commission of India Chairman Dr. Anil Kakodkar unanimously recommended following candidates for Goa Scholars Scheme awards:

1. Salma A. Buddaseth, Ph.D. in Molecular Genetics of Cancer, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
2. Andrea Colaco, Ph.D in Media Arts & Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.A.
3. Onkar S. Parrikar, Ph.D in Physics, University of Illinois, USA.
4. Ankita Kejriwal, Ph.D. in Computer Science, Stanford University, USA.
5. Dr. Kapil Prabhudesai, Fellowship Head & Neck Surgical Oncology, Regional Cancer Centre, Trivandrum.
6. Dr. Riya Ballikar, MD-Medicine, Seth G.S. Medical College, Mumbai.
7. Dr. Michelle Viegas, D.M. Cardiology, St. John’s National Academy of Health Science, Bangalore.
8. Rohan Virgincar, M.S. Biomedical Engineering, Duke University, USA.
9. Anand Kamat Tarcar, M.S. in Electrical Engineering Stanford University, USA.
10. Nigel A. J. Faria, Post Graduate in Management, IIM, Calcutta.
11. Kedar Pai, Master’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering, Oklahoma State University, USA

The Goa Scholar Scheme was started in the year 2003-04. Since its inception, 41 Goan students have been awarded these scholarships. Many of them have completed their studies and are pursuing various vocations in India and abroad. The basic objective of this scheme is to promote pursuance of post graduate studies by younger population of Goa. The amount of the scholarship is Rs. 2 lakh per year for two years in India and US$15,000 (one time) for studies abroad.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker