Current Affairs

Cong Sweeps Civic Polls, BJP Routed

The Congress swept the municipal polls while the Bharatiya Janata Party was routed completely. The only saving grace for the BJP is Mapusa where some of its candidates got elected.

In Margao for the first time in recent history, the council will not have any BJP member as not a single candidate of the party was elected. All the 20 councillors elected at Margao are Congress members but owing allegiance to different Congress leaders.

Although Chief Minister Digambar Kamat suffered a setback with three of his candidates – Zarina Shah, Sandra Fernandes and Manoj Masurkar – losing the polls, Goa Pradesh Congress Committee General Secretary Vijay Sardessai emerged trumps as all candidates supported by him won with comfortable majority.

 At Canacona 9 of the 10 councillors elected are Congress members and the lone independent councilor was quick to jump on to the Congress bandwagon.

At Cuncolim only one BJP candidate emerged successful but the victory was extra sweet given the fact that the candidate Naguesh Chitari defeated local MLA Joaquim Alemao’s pet candidate and former Chairperson of the Cuncolim Municipal Council Filon Vaz.

At Quepem also the Congress held sway with local MLA Babu Kavlekar claiming that all the councilors are party members.

In Mapusa however, there was a fractured mandate but the Congress given the fact that it is the ruling party in the State and Centre, is likely to cobble up the required majority to take control of the council.

At Mormugao where ugly scenes of MLAs getting physical were witnessed, the Congress held sway much to the chagrin of Revenue Minister Jose Philip D’Souza, who however has the satisfaction of getting his brother and wife elected to the council.

Meanwhile BJP MLA Damodar Naik representing Fatorda constituency conceded defeat and admitted that his party had fared badly at the elections.

“We shall meet shortly to analyse the results,” he said while asserting that the municipal election results were not a mandate to Digambar Kamat’s government.


Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker