Congress single-largest party in Meghalaya

The ruling Congress in Meghalaya emerged as the single largest party on Saturday after it won 21 seats out of 59 Assembly constituency, falling short of majority by 10 seats.

Chief Minister Mukul Sangma won from two Assembly seats — Ampati and Songsak –
which he had contested.

The veteran Congress leader retained Ampati for the sixth consecutive term defeating
his nearest rival BJP’s Bakul Chandra Hajong by a margin of 8104 votes. In Songask,
Dr Sangma defeated his nearest rival of the National People’s Party Nihim D Shira by
1830 votes.

Dr. Sangma’s younger brother’s Zenith M Sangma, who is also the Excise minister
and his wife Dikanchi D Shira retained the assembly seats respectively.
However, the Congress which won 29 seats in 2013 assembly elections suffered a
major setback with Home Minister Horju Donkupar Roy Lyngdoh, Urban Affairs Minister
Ronnie V. Lyngdoh, Public Health Engineering Minister, Dr. Celestine Lyngdoh, who is
the president of the state Congress and Assembly Speaker Abu Taher Mondal failed
to retain their seats.

The National People’s Party (NPP), which contested in 52 assembly seats, won in
19 assembly seats with sitting party legislator James Sangma, former Union Minister
Agatha Sangma, former Rajya Sabha member Thomas Sangma, besides former

Congress ministers Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar won the battle.
However, the NPP which is an ally of the BJP at the Centre, Rajasthan and Manipur
suffered a jolt when its key candidate Ngaitlang Dhar, the richest candidate in the
February 27 elections couldn’t retain his Umroi assembly seat, losing it to Congress
candidate Goerge Lyngdoh by 1018 votes.

The BJP which was confident of leading the government could win with only two
seats with former Congress minister A.L.Hek and Deputy Speaker Sanbor Shullai

The combined Regional Alliance — United Democratic Party (UDP), Hill State
People’s Democratic Party, Garo National Council –- could win only eight seats.
The UDP won 6 seats, the HSPDP won 2 while the GNC drew blank.

Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) chief Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit
failed to retain Nongkrem assembly seat.

Former Chief Minister Dr. Donkupar Roy retained his Shella assembly for the
seventh consecutive term and Metbah Lyngdoh also retained Mairang assemblky

The newly floated People’s Democratic Front, won four seats. However, the party’s
chief ministerial candidate Pynshngainlang N Syiem was defeated by Congress
candidate Himalaya Muktan Shangpliang by a margin of 794 votes in Mawsynram.
Post-results, the high command of both the parties, BJP and Congress, have
fielded their leaders respectively to help the state leaders to ensure claim of
Government formation.

In Williamnagar constituency, the Election Commission is yet to announce the date
of voting which was countermanded following death of Nationalist Congress Party
(NCP) candidate Jonathone Sangma.

Savio Rodrigues

Savio Rodrigues Founder & Editor-in-Chief

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker