Current AffairsIndia

Congress towards reins in MP

Bhopal, Dec 11 (IECurrentAffairs) As counting enters the final stage on Tuesday in what have turned out to be extremely engrossing Assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh, the Congress emerged victorious in three constituencies and is leading in 112 as compared to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) also winning three and being ahead in 103.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is faring well in a couple of places and others in seven segments. It is believed that the Congress is close to government formation but its joy was marred by the defeat of stalwart Suresh Pachouri even as the Vidhan Sabha’s Leader of the Opposition Ajay Singh is trailing by a margin of approximately 6,000 in Churhat.

More than half-a-dozen ministers of the BJP – which has been in the saddle for one-and-a-half decades – are on the brink of defeat. Minister Lalita Yadav was humbled in Malhara. Mr Antarsingh Arya, Mr Deepak Joshi, Dr Narottam Mishra, Mr Rustam Singh, Mr Jai Bhan Singh Pawaiya, Mr Lalsingh Arya and some others are trailing though Mr Vijay Shah is on the threshold of a win.

Union Minister Thaawar Chand Gehlot’s son Jitendra is losing in Alote.

In an unprecedented struggle, the Congress and the saffron party garnered in excess of 41 per cent of votes.
Postal ballots were counted first for 230 seats and electronic voting machines taken up later, sources at the Chief Electoral Officer’s workplace said. Counting of votes cast on November 28 commenced on Tuesday morning at all district headquarters amid heavy security bandobast. The official time for commencement of the process was 0800 hrs.

A total 75.05 per cent of an electorate exceeding five crore exercised their franchise to determine the fortunes of 2,899 candidates. The BJP is contesting all 230 seats, the Congress 229, the BSP 227 and the Aam Aadmi Party 208. This time it has been decided to provide certificates to nominees after each round of counting. Only returning officers and observers are being permitted to carry cellular phones into the counting centres.

The Congress ruled for a decade from 1993 but was ousted by the BJP’s historic victory in 2003. In 2013, the saffron party surged to power for a third successive time by winning 165 constituencies whereas the Congress was restricted to 58.

Via IndianExpose

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker