Current AffairsIndia

Counting of votes begins in all the 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka

Bengaluru, May 23 (GCCurrentAffairs) The counting of votes of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka, for which elections were held in two phases in April, had began with peaceful note here on Thursday.

While the first phase election was held for 14 Lok sabha seats on April-18, the second phase poll was conducted in April-23 and a total turnout of 66.88 per cent of polling had been registered as compared to 67.20 per cent recorded in the previous 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

While the BJP had fielded its candidates in 27 Lok Sabha constituencies, the JD(S)-Congress Alliance had fielded its candidates for all the 28 Lok sabha seats sharing the seats with 7 and 21 respectively.

The BJP which had not fielded its candidate in Mandya Lok Sabha seat had extended its support to the Independent candidate and cine star Sumalatha.

According to Sanjiv Kumar, the Chief Electoral Officer for Karnataka, the first result is expected to out by 1500 hours and all the arrangements including security were made for the smooth conduct of the counting of votes in all the 28 Lok sabha seats.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker