Breaking NewsCurrent AffairsIndia

Delhi Polling Day: Capital’s elites lead from front

New Delhi, Feb 8 (GCCurrentAffairs) As the polling for the 70-member Delhi Assembly got underway on Saturday morning, the high and mighty of the national capital led the people from the front.
Among the high profile brigade, today, were External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar, former vice president Hamid Ansari, Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan and BJP leader Ram Madhav.
Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, after taking blessings from his parents, cast his vote at around 0945 hrs. There was a heavy deployment of personnel outside the polling booth in Civil lines. Mr Kejriwal was accompanied by his wife and parents.
Delhi Deputy CM and Aam Aadmi Party candidate from Patparganj Assembly constituency, Manish Sisodia and his wife Seema Sisodia cast their vote at MCD school in Pandav Nagar.
Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari was seen offering praying at his residence ahead of polls.
Lt Governor Anil Baijal and his wife Mala Baijal cast their vote at a polling station at Greater Kailash. AAP’s sitting MLA and candidate Saurabh Bhardwaj is contesting against BJP’s Shikha Rai and Congress’s Sukhbir Pawar from here.
BJP MP Meenakshi Lekhi after exercising her franchise expressed confidence in her party to win the polls. “Lies are being spread by Aam Aadmi Party”, she told reporters. She exercised her franchise at a polling station in South Extension part II.
Congress candidate from the Chandni Chowk assembly constituency, Alka Lamba cast her vote at Tagore Garden Extension. Ms Lamba, who left AAP, joined Congress in October in 2019.
BJP MP Parvesh Verma casts his vote at a polling station in Matiala assembly constituency.
AAP candidate from Rajinder Nagar, Raghav Chadha also casts his vote at a polling station in Rajinder Nagar. Congress’s Rocky Tuseed and BJP’s RP Singh are contesting from the assembly constituency here.
Around 1.47 crore eligible voters of Delhi will elect representatives for the 70-member Delhi assembly from 672 candidates from 0800 hrs to 1800 hrs today.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker