Current AffairsIndia

Delhi polls: Cong releases list of 40 star campaigners

New Delhi, Jan 22 (GCCurrentAffairs) The Congress on Wednesday released a list of 40 star campaigners, including party president Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and party general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, for the Delhi assembly elections, scheduled to be held on February 8.
According to the list released by Congress general secretary K C Venugopal, apart from Ms Gandhi, Mr Gandhi, Ms Vadra, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, senior party leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, P C Chacko will take charge of the party’s campaign.
The list also includes Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Shashi Tharoor, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Shatrughan Sinha, Ashok Gehlot, Bhupesh Baghel, Kamal Nath, V Narayanasamy, Sachin Pilot, Jyotiraditya Scindia.
Other prominent leaders include — Delhi Congress chief Subhash Chopra, Ajay Maken, Meira Kumar, J P Agarwal, Raj Babbar, Kapil Sibal, Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Randeep Singh Surjewala, Kirti Azad, Sushmita Dev, and Udit Raj.
Former President Pranab Mukherjee’s daughter Sharmistha Mukherjee is also mentioned in the list.
The grand old party has fielded Romesh Sabharwal against AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal from the New Delhi constituency.
The counting of votes will take place on February 11.
The Delhi Assembly Election 2020 will witness a triangular contest between AAP, BJP and Congress.
In 2015 elections, the AAP won 67 seats, while the BJP got the rest three and the Congress drew a blank.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker