Current AffairsIndia

Election Commission suspends Two Excise Superintendents, four others shifted

Patna: Election Commission today ordered for immediate suspension of two district excise superintendents and shifting of four others for dereliction of their duties in checking excise activities and monitoring of expenses being incurred by candidates contesting Bihar Assembly Elections.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Sanjay Kumar Singh said that during the review of electoral preparedness for the first phase of General Elections to the Legislative Assembly on October 28, Commission noticed that the performance of some districts in terms of expenditure monitoring including control on excise activities had been dismal.

“Excise in-charge of these districts have not demonstrated alertness and effectiveness in seizure of liquor, which vitiates the electoral environment. Commission has viewed this seriously and has directed the State Government for suspension of two district excise superintendents and transfer of four district excise superintendents with immediate effect”, Singh informed.

Among those for whom, the commission directed for immediate suspension included Bipin Kumar and Nitin Kumar, Excise Superintendents of Sheikhpura and Arwal districts respectively. Similarly, directive had been issued for shifting of Excise Superintendents Krishna Murari of Jehanabad, Devendra Kumar of Buxar, Shailendra Chaudhary of Lakhisarai and Sanjeev Thakur of Jamui. They would be placed under waiting posting, he informed.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker