Current AffairsGoaPolitics

Goa Governor hosts reception at Raj Bhavan

Panaji, Dec 20 (GCCurrentAffairs) Goa Governor Mridula Sinha hosted reception at Raj Bhavan at Dona Paula near the city on Wednesday on the occasion of 57th Goa Liberation Day.

The Governor, while addressing the gathering, extended her best wishes to the people on Goa Liberation Day and congratulated the winners of awards.

Dr Sinha, who is nominee for Swacch Bharat Abhiyan, announced awards for two clean cities and two villages in the state.

Bicholim city from North Goa was selected as clean city. Chairperson of BMC Rajaram Gaonkar and Chief Officer Vivek Naik both received cheque of Rs 50, 000 and a certificate from the Governor.

From South Goa, Cuncolim city selected as clean city. Chairperson Lavina Mascarenhas and Chief Officer Shankar Gaonkar received cheque of Rs 50, 000 and a certificate from the Governor.

The award for clean village from North Goa was won by Pilern-Marra village and Chicalim village from South Goa. The Sarpanchas of both villages Amarnath Govekar and Sabestio Benedict Pereira received cheques of Rs 50,000 each and certificates from the Governor.

To commemorate 150th birth Anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, the office of the Governor organized a slogan writing competition for Colleges and Schools in the state. The winners of the competition on college level were Ms Twinkle Veena Dias and Ms Lanishka Fatima Vaz of Rosary College of Commerce and Arts won first and second prizes respectively. Whereas Ms Reghu Rakhi S of Father Agnel College of Arts and Commerce won third prize of the competition. The Governor handed over rewards and certificates to the winners.

The winners of the slogan writing competition for High school level were Master Parvez Attar of Government High School Sadar Ponda, Ms Nivita Phadte of Government High School Ganjem Usgao and Master Tejas Naikb, School of Symbiosis Shiroda won first second and third prizes respectively. They received reward and certificates from the Governor.

Public Works Department (PWD) Minister Ramkrishna (Sudin) Dhavalikar, Power Minister Nilesh Cabral, Panchayat Minister Mauvin Godinho, Speaker of Goa Assembly Dr Pramod Sawant, Chief Secretary Dharmendra Sharma, Union Minister of State for Ayush ( Independent Charge ) Shripad Naik, Ex-MP Rajya Sabha John Fernandes, Ex-Minister Alina Saldanha Ex-MLAs Pandurang Raut, Prakash Velip, Secretaries to the Government, Heads of Various Government Department, Freedom Fighters, Prominent citizens and others, among others, were present on the occasion.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker