Current AffairsIndia

Howrah-Kalka Mail has been renamed Netaji Express

New Delhi: One of the Indian Railways’ oldest and popular trains, the Howrah-Kalka Mail has been renamed as Netaji Express.

The Ministry of Railways said it has rechristened Train No. 12311/12312 and henceforward it will be called Netaji Express.

The Howrah-Kalka Mail runs between Howrah (Eastern Railway) and Kalka (Northern Railway) via Delhi.

The Union government has announced observing Subhas Chandra Bose’s birthday on January 23 every year as ‘Parakram Diwas’ (day of valour).

“Netaji’s ‘prakram’ (valour) put India on the express route of freedom and development. I am thrilled to celebrate his birth anniversary with the introduction of ‘Netaji Express’, tweeted Goyal ahead of Bose’s 125th birth anniversary.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker