Current Affairs

Joaquim Sweeps Cuncolim But Loses Key Constituencies

Congress men contesting the Cuncolim municipal elections emerged victorious in seven of the 10 constituencies giving its MLA and Urban Development Minister Joaquim Alemao a shot in his arms. However, the victory was not really sweet as both the key candidates sponsored by Joaquim lost.
Outgoing chairperson Filon Vaz who was backed by Joaquim lost to Bharatiya Janata Party’s Cuncolim Mandal President Naguesh Chitari by 58 votes giving the first set back to the Congress camp.

The second slap came when Mario Moraes, handling Joaquim Alemao’s political affairs in the office and who resigned from the Goa State Urban Development Authority to contest the elections, lost to Laxman Naik by 26 votes.
The third opposition candidate to win here was Xavier Anthony Vaz from ward No. 9 who defeated Joaquim Alemao’s Anthony Fernandes by 93 votes.
However, Landry Mascarenhas, the Vice Chairperson in the outgoing council won by a very comfortable margin of 345 votes.

The results of Cuncolim Municipal elections are as follows:
Ward No. 1: Crossy Fernandes (303) Jeorgina Gama (244)
Ward No. 2: Mangaldas Gaunkar (449) Pratima Gaonkar (368)
Ward No. 3: Laxman Naik (461) Mario Moraes (435)
Ward No. 4: Devendra Dessai (449) Nilesh Kunde (209)
Ward No. 5: Nagesh Chitari (471) Filon Vaz (413)
Ward No. 6: Premdeep Dessai (544) Merwyn D’Souza (284)
Ward No. 7: Polita Carneiro (381) Elsa Coutinho (307)
Ward No. 8: Landry Mascarenhas (528) Elvis Almeida (183)

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker