Current AffairsIndia

Justice PV Sanjay Kumar appointed Chief Justice of Manipur High Court

The Central government has cleared the appointment of Justice Puligoru Venkata Sanjay Kumar as the next Chief Justice of the Manipur High Court.

A notification was issued to this effect by the Ministry of Law and Justice.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint Shri Justice Puligoru Venkata Sanjay Kumar, Judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court, to be the Chief Justice of the Manipur High Court with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office,” the notification said.

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended the appointment of Justice Kumar as the new Chief Justice of the Manipur High Court in January 2021.

Justice Kumar will take over from current Chief Justice Ramalingam Sudhakar, who will retire on February 13.

Justice Kumar has served as a Government Pleader in the Andhra Pradesh High Court from 2000-2003 and was elevated as a judge of the AP High Court in 2008. He was made a permanent High Court judge in 2010.

Following the bifurcation of the erstwhile State of Andhra Pradesh into Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, Justice Kumar served as a judge of the Telangana High Court.

In October 2019, he was transferred from the Telangana High Court to the Punjab & Haryana High Court, although the move sparked protests among members of the Bar.


Via Bar & Bench
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker