Current Affairs

Konkani not the flavor of MLAs for ‘Assembly Oath’

So much for protecting the official regional language of Goa and the political ruckus created around the issue of upholding the Konkani language, when only seven of the newly elected Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) took their oath in Goa official language – Konkani.

Eighteen out of 40 MLAs took their oath in English, while fourteen legislators took their oath in Marathi.

In the background over the political games played on the issue of Medium of Instruction, seven out of nine Congress MLAs took oath in English while six out of 21 BJP MLAs also followed their suite. Both the Goa Vikas Party legislators – Mickky Pacheco and Caetano Silva – preferred English.

Similarly, three independents – Rohan Khaunte, Avertano Furtado and Benjamin Silva took oath in English. The only independent to take oath in Konkani was Vijay Sardesai. Similarly, independent MLA Naresh Sawal from Bicholim preferred Marathi.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker