LESA’s table tennis tournament held at Margao

Loyola Ex-Students Association organized its annual major ranking table tennis tournament at Loyola High School on 14th August with Goa Olympic Association Secretary Gurudat Bhakta as the Chief Guest.

The tournament was started in 2002 and immediately got recognized as a major ranking tournament in Goa. In 2005 it was renamed LESA Carmo Memorial TT Tournament after late Carmo do Rosario a table tennis enthusiast and ex-student of Loyola High School.

Tanisi Kirtani dominated the girls section winning the mini-cadet and cadet finals and emerging the runners up in the sub-junior category. Wesley do Rosario won the mini-cadet and cadet finals while the sub-junior and junior category finals were both won by Tejas Sherde who incidentally defeated Krishal Peres da Silva in both finals.

Rithika Ghati was adjudged the most promising player amongst the girls while Tejas Sherde was declared the most promising player amongst the boys. Tejas also bagged an award of Rs. 1,000 for winning three titles – sub-junior, junior and doubles.

Following were the results of the finals in various categories:

Mini-Cadet (Girls)
Tanisi Kirtani beat Rithika Ghati (11-5, 11-3, 11-9)

Mini-Cadet (Boys)
Wesley do Rosario beat Varun Gangodkar (11-7, 11-4, 11-1)

Cadet (Girls)
Tanisi Kirtani beat Arantxa Noronha (11-6, 11-9, 11-6)

Cadet (Boys)
Wesley do Rosario beat Mangesh Sakordekar (11-8, 12-10, 6-11, 11-9)

Sub-Junior (Girls)
Roshni Gopani beat Tanisi Kirtani (11-5, 11-9, 7-11, 11-5)

Sub-Junior (Boys)
Tejas Sherde beat Krishal Peres da Silva (12-10, 11-9, 11-4)

Junior (Girls)
Eleanor Rosario beat Devika Sood (6-11, 8-11, 11-7, 11-9, 11-9)

Junior (Boys)
Tejas Sherde beat Krishal Peres da Silva (11-9, 11-6, 11-6)

Agnelo Naik beat Amit Naik (11-4, 11-5, 13-11)


Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker