Breaking NewsInside Kashmir

Lotus begins to bloom in Kashmir valley

Srinagar: Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), the party which was seen as untouchable until recently, has finally made inroads in the Kashmir valley, winning three District Development Council (DDC) seats.

One each seat by BJP candidates has been won in Srinagar, Pulwama and Bandipora.

Counting of votes is underway for recently concluded DDC election in Jammu and Kashmir amid tight security arrangements.

The first seat for the BJP was won by BJP National vice-president and in charge West Bengal Youth Wing Er Ajaz Hussain from Khanmoh II. “I’m thankful to the people for giving me this opportunity to work for them. My win is a message to regional parties that people want development,” Er Hussain told reporters here on Tuesday.

Reacting to the win, BJP National spokesperson Syed Shahnawaz Hussain said that the first lotus has bloomed in Kashmir. “The first lotus has bloomed in Kashmir! Engineer Aijaz Hussain wins from Khanmoh II, Srinagar, Kashmir by a good margin,” Hussain wrote on micro-blogging site twitter.

Er Hussain said it was trust posed by the people of the people in the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Senior BJP leader Ram Madhav congratulated Hussain in a tweet which read, “Congratto @IAmErAijaz Aijaz Hussain, national Vice President, BJYM for winning d first seat from Balhama in Srinagar in DDC elections.”

Two more BJP candidates Aijaz Hussain and Mina Latief have registered their win from Tulail, Bandipora and Kakpora-two in militancy district of Pulwama respectively.

The success of BJP candidates was as a result of hectic campaigning by senior party leaders, including Union ministers—Mukhtar Hussain Ansari, Anurag Singh Thakur, Shahnawaz Hussain and Vibodh Gupta—who campaigned in the Jammu and Kashmir, particularly in the valley.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker