Current AffairsIndia

Meghalaya CM meets Malik for induction of Two Ministers

Shillong: Meghalaya Chief Minister, Conrad Sangma on Thursday called on Governor Satya Pal Malik and submitted a list of legislators who will take oath as new Ministers of the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) Government in place of two Ministers who have been dropped from the cabinet on Wednesday.

Raj Bhavan sources informed that the Chief Minister held a one-on-one meeting with the Governor and advised him to sworn-in two new faces in place of Public Works Department (Building) Minister, Comingone Ymbon and Public Health Engineering Minister, Samlin Malangiang.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Raj Bhavan on Thursday at 5 p.m.
The two legislators who will take the oath as new Ministers of the Conrad Sangma-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government include first time NPP legislator and Meghalaya’s youngest legislator, Dasakhiat Lamare, and first-timer Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) legislator, Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar.
“This is not a new thing as there was an understanding between the MLAs before the start of the term of the MDA (Meghalaya Democratic Alliance) government”, Lyngdoh said.

Lamare will replace PWD Minister and three-time legislator, Ymbon and Lyngdoh will replace Malngiang.
While the replacement of Malngiang has been anticipated right after the MDA government completed two and half years on September 6, the removal of Ymbon came as surprise as there was no indication earlier that the replacement of Minister would happen in the NPP too.

Moreover, the million-dollar question arises over the logic of dropping Ymbon, one of the senior MLAs of the NPP from Jaiñtia Hills, and replaced him by the first time legislator, that too, from Ri Bhoi district and why not by another first-timer and Jowai legislator, Wailad Shylla from West Jaiñtiq Hills district.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker