Current Affairs

MMC Polls: D’Silva Chairperson, Coutinho Vice-Chairperson

After the resignation of Digambar Kamat supported Chairperson Sushila Naik and the loss of the No-Vote Confidence motion of the Fatorda MLA Vijai Sardesai supported Gonzaco Rebello, councilors Arthur D’Silva and Pratima Coutinho has now been elected as the new chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Margao Municipal Corporation.

The decision of the both the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson was taken by lots as the votes were tied-up at 10:10. Through the lots D’Silva emerged at the winner with Coutinho as the vice-chairperson.

Group of Eleven which ruffled both the Kamat and Sardesai camp managed to do the impossible. While media reports are attributing this group to BJP supported; the fact which is clearly evident that most of the councilors are Congress loyalist. And more importantly, Goa Pradesh Youth Congress president is a part of this group.


Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker