Current AffairsIndia

MNF unseats Congress in Mizoram

Aizwal, Dec 11 (GCCurrentAffairs) The Mizo National Front is marching ahead to oust Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla-led Congress government in the state.

Two-time Congress Chief Minister Lal Thanhwala lost the Champhai South seat to Mizo National Front’s TJ Lalnuntulanga.

He is also trailing behind in Serchhip — signifying the strong anti-incumbency that the veteran Congress leader faced.

If he loses Serchhip, it will be historic because he has won from this seat seven times now since 1984, losing only in 1998, when his government had faced a strong wave of anti-incumben

According to latest figures from the ECI show that the Mizo National Front has won five seats and is leading in 17.

BJP candidate and former minister Dr Buddha Dhan Chakma of the BJP has won Tuichawng seat. Chakma was a minister in the Congress government before he switched to the BJP.

Former Home Minister R Lalzirliana, who left the Congress recently to join Mizo National Front, has won Tawi constituency. The Mizo National Front has also won Hrangturzo.

BJP state president, JV Hluna, has lost his deposit in Tawi constituency.

Finance Minister Lalsawta is trailing in the prestigious Aizawl East-II behind MNF nominee Robert Romawia Royte.

Former assembly speaker Lalchamliana of the MNF is ahead of Cooperation Minister and the lone woman legislator Vanlalawmpuii Chawngte in Hrangturzo seat.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker