Current AffairsIndia

Naidu, Javadekar present National Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2019

New Delhi, Nov 16 (GCCurrentAffairs) Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu and Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar on Saturday presented awards to winners of the National Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2019 on the occasion of National Press Day here.

Eminent journalist and Chiarman of Rajasthan Patrika Private Ltd, Gulab Kothari, was given ‘Raja Ram Mohan Roy Award’ for his outstanding contribution towards journalism.

Mr Sanjay Saini, Correspondent Dainik Bhaskar, Mandi, Himachal Pradesh and Mr Raj Chengappa, Group Editorial Director(Publishing), India Today were jointly given the award in the category of ‘Rural Journalism’ for their respective articles.

Mr Shiva Swaroop Awasthi, senior reporter, Dainik Jagaran and Mr Anu Abrahim, Sub-Editor, Mathrubhumi, Calicut were jointly given the award in the category of ‘Developmental Reporting’.

Under ‘Photo Journalism-Single News Picture’, Mr P G Unnikrishnan, Senior Photographer, The Matrubhumi for the photo published with caption ‘Hon’ble Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Canadian counterpart Justin Trudeau at Rashtrapati Bhawan during a ceremonial reception to the latter.

Ms Sipra Das, Consulting Editor (Photography), India Empire Magazine and Parliamentarian Magazine, was awarded under the category ‘Photo Journalism-Photo Feature’, Mr Saurabh Duggal (Hindustan Times, Chandigarh) was awarded in ‘Sports Reporting’ category.

Ms Ruby Sarkar, Special Correspondent, Deshbandhu, Bhopal and Ms Anuradha Mascarenhas, Senior Editor, The Indian Express, Pune were jointly awarded in the category of ‘Gender Based Reporting’.

Also, Ms Krishn Kaushik and Sandeep Singh from Indian Express jointly got ‘award under the category of ‘Financial Reporting’.

The selection of awardees was carried out by a jury comprising eminent members of the PCI –Convenor Jai Shankar Gupta, Balwinder Singh Jammu, Ashok Upadhyay from United News of India, Kamal Nain Narang, Shayam Singh Panwar, Dr K Sreenivasrao, Prof Sushma Yadav as members of the PCI and Anshuman Tiwari, Editor, India Today as a co-opted Financial Expert.

Chairman of Press Council of India (PCI) Justice Chandramauli Kumar Prasad was also present on the occasion.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker