Current Affairs

NCP announces its final list, loyal members unhappy

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) waited till the last day to announce candidates in three constituencies but that didn’t stop ticket aspirants from contesting as independents.

Ashish Shirodkar will contest on an NCP ticket from Mapusa constituency sidetracking party president Surendra Sirsat. Builder Venkatesh Moni Prabhu quit the NCP after he lost out to the party’s mahila president Fermina Khaunte from Porvorim constituency and Rudresh Chondankar managed to get the ticket from Mayem constituency. Chodankar is the deputy mayor of the Corporation of City of Panaji (CCP) and Shirodkar is the chairperson of the Mapusa Muncipal council (MMC).

Speaking to mediapersons Moni Prabhu said, “Non-NCP members who had applied for tickets were directly received by NCP coordinator Praful Hede at his residence and this is the way NCP leaders have sold tickets to the Congress.” He also made allegations against NCP Goa desk in-charge Bharati Chavan.

NCP spokesperson Avinash Bhosale said keeping in mind ‘win ability factor’ NCP has decided to give tickets to Shirodkar and Chodankar. “Both have filed the NCP primary membership form today (Monday) morning,” he said.

The decision of the party has not gone smoothly with the party’s North Goa general secretary Armindo Braganza who quit the party and filed a nomination as an independent candidate on the same day.  Disgruntled with the decision Armindo Braganza along with his supporters reached the deputy collector’s building in Mapusa to file his nominations even before Shirodkar who was busy filling the party forms in Panaji. Speaking to mediapersons soon after filing his nominations Braganza said that he was upset with the party’s decision.

“NCP has back stabbed me by giving the party ticket to a stranger and imported candidate,” Braganza said, adding that, “NCP was zero in Mapusa, I built the party for the past one year, I have gone door to door, understanding each voter’s problems and helping them,”

NCP president Surendra Sirsat was the front runner for the NCP ticket to contest from Mapusa and home minister Ravi Naik was lobbying hard to get the ticket for his son Roy Naik to contest from Mayem constituency.

NCP is contesting seven seats for the assembly election: Mayem, Porvorim, Mapusa, Saligao, Sanguem, Tivim and Vasco.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker