Current Affairs

NCP – Congress to share 7 seats

The NCP will contest in seven assembly constituencies in Goa since the Congress on Saturday agreed to give its alliance partner one more seat than it did at the previous assembly election. Announcing this at a media briefing at a Bogmallo resort, senior NCP leader Praful Patel confirmed the alliance and named the NCP constituencies as Tivim, Vasco, Mapusa, Saligao, Porvorim, and Sanguem.

“Out of the seven, six constituencies are confirmed and the discussions for the seventh one are in progress and will be finalized by Sunday,” the senior NCP leader said.

Patel, who arrived in Goa on Saturday afternoon, said that the seventh constituency can either be Cortalim or Mayem.

Patel was accompanied at the briefing by Vasco MLA Jose Philip D’Souza, MLA Nilkanth Halarnkar and other party members. He said there are some issues the NCP needed to finalize with the Congress party.

Patel said, “There were some demands made by the NCP during the last election, but the Congress failed to keep its word after winning the election. This time we will make sure that the Congress doesn’t take us lightly.” Patel also said that “a few of the party members were not happy with only seven seats” and added that the candidates would be finalized later.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker