Current AffairsIndia

Nominations opened for Dec 5 by-election to fill 15 Disqualified MLAs vacant seats in K’taka LA

Bengaluru, Nov 11 (GCCurrentAffairs) The filing of nominations began on Monday for December 5 by-election to fill the 15 Karnatakaka Legislative Assembly seats, which has fallen vacant following the disqualification of MLAs by the then Speaker Ramesh Kumar on the complaint about violation of their respective party whips, even as the Supreme Court has reserved its verdict on petition filed by Legislators, questioning their disqualification.

The outcome of the bypoll assumes significance since the survival of the ruling BJP government headed by Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa will be at stake, as the party has to reach the magic figure of 113 in the 224 House (plus Speaker) its continuation in power.

At present, the ruling BJP has 105 MLAs and support of an independent MLA.

Since after disqualification of 17 MLAs, including 13 Congress and three JDS, the requisite number for forming the government has come down and Yediyurappa government won the confidence motion moved in the Legislative Assembly immediately after fall of the 14-month-old Congress-JDS coalition government, headed by the then Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy.

The Supreme Court, which has completed the hearing on the disqualified MLAs petition, has reserved its verdict and it is expected to pronounce within a couple of days.

The by-election was originally scheduled for October 21 and it was postponed to December 5, following a direction by the apex court to the Election Commission, as it had reserved its verdict.

While the by-election are being held to 15 Assembly seats, for the remaining two seats it was withheld since election petitions seeking annulling of the election are pending before the High Court.

The by-elections will be held at 15 Assembly seats, including Kagwad, Athani, Gokak, Vijayanagara, K R Puram, Yeshvanthpura, Mahalakshmi, KR Pete, Hunasuru, Hoskote, Shivajinagara, Chikkaballapura, Ranebennur, Yellapura and Hirekerur.

The State Election Commission has clarified that the nominations filed by 18 candidates for October 21 election holds good and they need not file nomination again.

The counting of votes will be taken up on December 9, he said.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker