Current AffairsIndia

Notification issued for UP legislative council biennial polls

Lucknow: Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday issued the notification to biennial polls for 12 seats from Uttar Pradesh legislative council with polling schedule on January 28.

According to state chief electoral officer(CEO) officer here, the terms of the 12 seats were expiring on January 31.

The last date for filing of the nominations is January 18.

Scrutiny of papers would be done on January 19 and candidates can withdraw their nominations till January 21.

If required, the polling will be held on January 28 from 0900 hrs to 1600 hrs and counting of votes thereafter from 1700 hrs.

All the assembly members are eligible for voting in this election .

Ruling BJP is set to win 10 seats while SP has clear vote to get one seat. Opposition if unite, can win the 12th seat.

A candidate will have to get 32 first preference votes to win the polls in the first round.

In the outgoing members 6 are of SP, 2 of BSP, 3 of BJP and one disqualified.

The present chairman of the Legislative council Ramesh Yadav, who is a SP would also retire.

The members whose tenure would expire are deputy CM Dinesh Sharma, UP BJP president Swantra Deo Singh and Laxman Acharya (all BJP), Nasimuddin Siddiqui (Disqualified), Dharamveer Ashok, Pradeep Jatav (both BSP), Ahmed Hassan, Ashu Mallick, Ramesh Yadav ( chairman of the house), Ram Jatan Rajbhar, Virendra Singh and Sahib Singh Saini(All SP).

BJP is set to repeat all its 3 sitting members while SP can repeat Ahmed Hasan.

In the legislative council, the opposition SP enjoys the majority with 55 members in the total strength of 100 while the ruling BJP has 25 members.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker