Current Affairs

Panchayat Bye-Elections on 10th April

The State Election Commission has announced bye-elections in six wards of six different village panchayats in five talukas, which will be held on 10th April 2011.
Elections will be held in the following wards: Ward No. 3 of Goa Velha Panchayat in Tiswadi taluka; Ward No. 6 of Ona-Maulinguem-Curchorem Panchayat in Bicholim taluka, Ward No. 5 of Ucassaim-Paliem-Punola Panchayat in Bardez taluka, Ward No. 5 of Rivona Panchayat of Sanguem taluka, Ward No. 3 of Curtorim Panchayat and Ward No. 4 of Macazana Panchayat in Salcete taluka.

While ward No. 4 of Ona-Maulinguem-Curchorem Panchayat is reserved for women, Ward No. 6 of Rivona Panchayat is reserved for OBC women and Ward No. 4 of Macasana is reserved for ST.
Nomination papers will be accepted between 10 am to 1 pm from 14th March to 21st March except for 20th March which is a Sunday, the same will be scrutinized on 22nd March from 10 am onwards and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is 23rd March 2011 up to 2 pm.
Elections will be held from 8 am to 5 pm on 10th April and polling will be through ballot papers while counting of votes will be taken up on 11th April from 8 am onwards in the offices of the respective taluka mamlatdars who have been appointed returning officers for these bye-elections.
The security deposit to be paid by candidates for these bye-elections is Rs. 100 in general category and Rs. 50 in reserved category.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker