Current Affairs

Parrikar to be sworn in as CM on March 9th

Riding high on its unprecedented showing in Goa elections, the BJP is now planning a huge public affair for the swearing in ceremony that will see Manohar Parrikar become the chief minister of Goa for the third time.
A full 12-member Cabinet will also be sworn in the same day by Governor K Sankaranarayanan.

Parrikar, 56, who has been the chief minister twice from October 2000 to February 2005, was the undisputed choice to lead the new government. The former IITian will be sworn in at an auspicious timing on Friday evening. The BJP office has given Raj Bhavan 4:52 pm and 4:55 pm as the alternate muhurat choices for the ceremony.

BJP leaders L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari among others will attend the function being held at Campal grounds to accommodate the swelling crowds of BJP supporters. A huge pandal is being put up for the occasion.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is also expected to lend his weight to the celebrations, as is Karnataka Chief Minister D V Sadananda Gowda.

Earlier in the day Parrikar, accompanied by MGP leader Sudin Dhavlikar and BJP’s Central leaders Ravi Shankar Prasad and Venkaiah Naidu met  Sankarnarayanan to stake their claim to form the government. The BJP-MGP alliance which won a solid majority of 24 out of 40 seats, is also backed by two Independents.

The ruling Congress was reduced to nine seats which is not far off from the tally notched by five Independents and the Goa Vikas Party (2) put together. The NCP which was struggling to find candidates drew a blank.


Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker