Current AffairsIndia

Polling begins for Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly byelection

Hyderabad: Voting began for the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly byelection in Telangana on Saturday, amid Covid-19 threat.

The polling which began at 0700 hours, will end at 1900 hours, as one hour was dedicated for Covid-19 patients to exercise their franchise.

People in large numbers queued up at 346 polling stations set up for the bypoll to cast their votes.

Over 2.20 lakh voters including more than 1.11 lakh female voters, will decide the fate of the candidates in the byelection—Nomula Bhagat (TRS), K Jana Reddy (Congress veteran ) and 39 others in the fray.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of TRS sitting MLA Nomula Narsimhaiah in December last year.

Though 41 candidates, including 14 candidates representing from various National and Regional parties were contesting the bypoll, the main fight is between Bhagat, son of the late Nomula Narsimhaiah, Seven time-MLA and former Congress Minister K Jana Reddy, who lost to Narasimhaiah in the 2018 assembly election and BJP candidate Dr Ravi Kumar.

Three companies of Central forces comprising 290 personnel and 2,390 state police personnel and officers have been deputed for election duty.

The administration has made arrangements in compliance with Covid-19 norms.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Shashank Goel, wearing a mask is mandatory to enter a polling booth.

The rule of ‘no mask, no entry’ into polling booths would be implemented strictly, he asserted.

The polling is progressing peacefully and there has been no untoward incidents so far.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker