Current AffairsIndia

Pondy Cong on tenterhooks as one more MLA resigns


Puducherry: Another Congress MLA of Puducherry K Lakshminarayanan resigned from the Assembly on Sunday, throwing ruling Congress in a difficulty a day before the crucial floor test.

Mr Lakshminarayanan, elected from Raj Bhavan constituency and the parliamentary secretary to Chief Minister V Narayanasamy, submitted his resignation letter to Speaker V Sivakolunthu.

With his resignation, the strength of the ruling Congress has come down to nine as four MLAs– A Namasivayam, Thepainthan, Malladi Krishna Rao and John Kumar–resigned from the Assembly earlier this week.

The opposition has submitted a memorandum to newly appointed Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan for a floor test, which was accepted by the latter.

The Lt Governor has asked Mr Narayanasamy to prove majority on the floor of the House by 1700 hrs of Monday. A special session has been called for the floor test.

At present the strength of the House is 27 with Congress nine, DMK three and one Independent in ruling, totaling to 13.

The opposition has 14 members with N R Congress seven members, AIADMK four and three of the BJP (nominated).

In the 33-member territorial assembly, three are nominated members while six seats are presently vacant.

The seats falling vacant are of Bahour MLA Dhanavelu(disqualified), Villianur legislative A Namasivayam(resigned),Ossudu MLA Thepainthan (resigned),Yanam legislative Malladi Krishna Rao (resigned),Kamaraj Nagar MLA-John Kumar (resigned) and Raj Bhawan legislative-K Lakshminarayanan (resigned)

As per sources, Mr Lakshminarayanan may join N R Congress.


Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker