Current Affairs

Pratapsingh Rane to be Leader of Opposition

With both former Chief Ministers Pratapsingh Rane and Digambar Kamat in the race to be the Leader of Opposition, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) president, Sonia Gandhi,  has decided to opt for Rane for the position.

Senior party leaders Mukul Vasnik and Jagmit Singh Brar held discussions with individual legislators after the Congress Legislative Party (CLP) failed to arrive at a consensus over the leader at its meeting held yesterday evening and left the decision to the party president.

Three CLP members – Atanasio Monseratte, Jennifer Monserrate and Pandurang Madkaikar, did not attend the meeting.

Congress suffered reverses at the recently concluded polls winning only 9 seats while BJP emerged as the largest single party lapping up 21 seats in the 40-member House.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker