Current Affairs

President Poll: Did One Congress MLA vote for Sangma instead of Pranab?

While the UPA-supported candidate Pranab Mukherjee has won the Presidential Elections with a thumping majority over the NDA-supported candidate PA Sangma by securing 69.3 per cent votes; one Congress MLA did not vote for Pranab Mukherjee.

Out of the total 40 MLAs votes, Sangma secured 31 MLAs vote (78 per cent) while Pranab secured 9 MLAs (22 per cent).

Goa Pradesh Congress Committee (GPCC) president, Subash Shirodkar expressed contentment that all nine Congress MLAs voted for the party’s candidate. Though, he too expected 10 to 11 MLAs to vote the UPA candidate.

However, here is the interesting bit, if all of the nine MLAs voted, then what about independent candidate Fatorda MLA Vijai Sardesai who also voted for the UPA-candidate Pranab. Thereby, taking Pranab’s total tally of MLAs to 10 and not 9. When contacted Vijai Sardesai, he confirmed that he did indeed voted for the UPA candidate.

It appears that one Congress MLA has not voted for Pranab but Sangma instead.



Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker