Current AffairsIndia

R-Day violence: FIR against Yogendra Yadav, Rakesh Tikait, Medha Patkar, 34 others

New Delhi: The Delhi Police has registered a named FIR against 37 persons, including Yogendra Yadav, Rakesh Tikait and Medha Patkar, in connection with the violence that erupted during the tractor rally on Tuesday.
The FIR has been registered under 13 different Sections of the Indian Penal Code, including criminal conspiracy, rioting, dacoity, use of deadly weapon during robbery and attempt to murder.

Farmer leaders named in the FIR include Darshan Pal, Gurnam Singh Chanduni, Kulwant Singh Sandhu, Satnam Singh Pannu, Joginder Singh Ugraha, Surjeet Singh Phool, Jagjeet Singh Dalewal, Balbir Singh Rajewal and Harinder Singh Lakhoval.

Police said the farmers’ organisations had violated the terms and conditions put in place for taking out a peaceful tractor rally on Republic Day, leading to incidents of violence at many places in the capital.

During the violence, 394 policemen were injured on Tuesday. Some of them were undergoing treatment in the ICU, while others were recuperating at various hospitals, they added.

The agitators also damaged 428 barricades, 30 police vehicles, six containers, four X-Ray machines, eight wire pillars and other properties, police alleged.
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker