Current AffairsIndia

Rajasthan to vote for 15th Assembly on Friday

Jaipur, Dec 6 (GCCurrentAffairs) Polling for electing 15th Legislative Assembly in Rajasthan will be held in 33 districts amid adequate arrangements on Friday.

The single phased polling will be held between 0800 hrs and 1700 hrs in 199 of the total 200 assembly constituencies. The election on the Ramgarh seat in Alwar district has been countermanded following the death of the BSP nominee Laxman Singh Chaudhary.

As many as 51,687 polling booths have been made at 35,971 locations for 4,75,54,217 electorate, including 2,27,17,518 women and girls.

The electorate will seal the fate of 2,274 contestants.

The authorities have made due preparations and tight security arrangements for smooth and fair polls. The polling parties have departed for their respective booths for conducting polls and many of them have already reached to their assigned venue to discharge duty.

Extra care will be taken for facilitating differently-abled voters for the first time by the Election Commission. The Commission has deputed NCC volunteers for providing conveyance and wheelchair as per the need to such voters, an Election Office spokesman said.

The counting of votes will be done on December 11 simultaneously in all five election-bound states of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram.

The contest by and large is expected to be straight bilateral affair between the traditional rivals, the ruling BJP and the principal opposition Congress. However, the candidates of the BSP, Leftists CPM and CPI, AAP and breakaway groups like one headed by estranged BJP leaders Hanuman Beniwal and Ghanshyam Tiwari and some strong rebels, including four members of Vasundhara Raje Council of Minister, have potentials to make it triangular or multi-cornered tussle on a number of seats.

The ruling BJP has fielded candidates on all seats, the Congress contesting 195 of 200 seats leaving five for allies like RLD, JD(Sharad Yadav faction) and NCP.

The BSP fielded 197(of them one passed away) and AAP for the first time contesting most of the seats.

The CPM is contesting on 28 seats while the CPI nominees are in fray in 16 constituencies.

In the present 14th House, the ruling BJP holds 160 seats, Congress 25, BSP and NUZP 2 each, NPP 1, Independents 7 and three seats are vacant

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker