Current AffairsIndia

SC/ST Voters shift their loyalty to Saffron party in LS Election

Bengaluru, May 25(GCCurrentAffairs) The voters belonging to the Scheduled Caste and Tribe, who were a traditionally supporters of the Congress seems to have shifted their loyalty in the 2019 Lok Sabha election to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and it was evident as all the seven seats reserved for SC/ST was won by Saffron party candidates in Karnataka.

The Congress which had won as many as five LS seats reserved for the SC/ST in the 2014 elections, drew blank in this election as all its candidates including former Union Ministers Mallikarjuna Kharge (Kalaburagi) and K H Muniyappa (Kolar) conceded their defeat to the BJP candidates Dr Umesh Jadhav and Muniswamy respectively.

The Congress also lost the reserved seats it had won in the 2014 LS election as its candidates Dhruvanarayana (Chamarajanagara), Chandrappa (Chitradurga), B V Naik (Raichur-ST) with a big margins to the respective BJP candidates.

While the BJP, which had won two Reserved seats in Bijapur and Ballari in the 2014 elections, made a clean sweep by bagging all the seven seats in the 2019 election when its candidates Ramesh Jigajinagi (Bijapur), A Narayanaswamy (Anekal), V Srinivasprasad (Chamarajanagar), Muniswamy (Kolar), Dr Umesh Jadhav (Kalaburagi) all SC seats, and Rajaamaresha Nayak (Raichur) and Devendrappa (Ballary) both the seats reserved for the ST communities, won the seats for the Saffron party.

With the loss of all the reserved seats, the Congress suffered a severe electoral setback as it had lost its strong-base to the BJP in Karnataka.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker