Current AffairsIndia

Siddaramaiah, Kumaraswamy booked for sedition, defamation

Bengaluru, Nov 29 (GCCurrentAffairs) The city police have booked former chief ministers Siddaramaiah and H D Kumaraswamy, along with a few IPS officers, on charges of sedition, defamation and many other Sections of IPC for protesting against the Income Tax raids during the Lok Sabha elections between March 27 and 28, this year.
Complainant Mallikarjuna A, resident of Gubbi in Tumakuru, has also accused former City Police Commissioner and other senior police officials and Election officials of failing to take action against the protestors, who he alleged, hampered the routine work of I-T officials, and also disrupted the free flow of traffic in March, 2019.
He approached the city civil court and filed a private complaint, seeking necessary directions. Admitting the complaint, the court directed the police to register an FIR against the accused under appropriate Sections and investigate the matter.
Based on the complaint, police filed an FIR against the accused on Wednesday, charging them under different Sections of the Indian Penal Code, including Section 121 (waging war against Government of India), 153 (provocation to cause riot), 149 (unlawful assembly), 353 (assault or criminal force to deter public servants to discharge their duties), 506 (criminal intimidation ) and 405 (criminal breach of trust).
The other leaders, against whom cases have been filed, include G Parameshwara, Dinesh Gundu Rao, DK Shivakumar, Sa Ra Mahesh, Thammanna DC, LR Shivarame Gowda, Muniratna Naidu and senior police officials, including DCP Rahul Kumar Shahpurwad.
They have also been accused of violating the Model Code of Conduct, which was in force for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.
The Election officials, who were present at the spot along with the police, who failed to take any action, Mr Mallikarjuna alleged in his complaint.
The I-T raids had been conducted on properties linked to political leaders and their aides in places including Bengaluru, Mandya, Hassan, Mysuru, and Shivamogga.
Congress and JD (S) leaders had accused the Centre of ‘misusing’ the Central agencies to browbeat the non-BJP leaders

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker