Six Phase Polls for Bihar

The Election Commission of India on Monday announced the poll schedule for Bihar which will be held in six phased commencing from 21st October.
The first phase on 21st October will have polling for 47 seats while the second phase will be held on 24th October in 45 seats.
The third phase will be on 28th October for 48 seats, fourth on 1st November for 42 seats, fifth on 9th November for 35 seats and last on 20th November for 26 seats, Chief Election Commissioner S Y Quraishi told a press conference in New Delhi.
Counting for the 243 Assembly seats will be held on 24th November.

Polling will be held in 56,943 polling stations spread across the state in which over 5.50 crore electorate are expected to exercise their franchise.
The by-polls for Banka Lok Sabha seat, which fell vacant following the death of sitting MP Digvijay Singh, will be held on 1st November.
The term of the 243-member Assembly will end on 27th November. This will be the first election after Quraishi took over as the Chief Election Commissioner on 30th July.
The election is expected to be a triangular affair with the ruling JD(U)-BJP continuing their poll alliance and Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD and Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP joining hands to oust it from power. The Congress has announced it would go it alone in the state, unlike in the past when it played a second fiddle to the RJD.
The RJD and the LJP overcame last-minute hiccups and clinched an alliance and decided to contest 168 and 75 seats respectively.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker