Sourav Ganguly set to be new BCCI president

New Delhi, Oct 14 (GCSports) In a dramatic turn of events, former India captain and Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) President, Sourav Ganguly is set to take over as the new BCCI president.

During a meeting between the state units of BCCI on Sunday night, Ganguly emerged as consensus candidate to be BCCI’s new President. Earlier, Brijesh Patel appeared to have grabbed the coveted post.

Ganguly is expected to file his nomination on October 14, the deadline for that stage of the BCCI electoral process and he is also likely to be the lone candidate and should therefore be elected unopposed.

Ganguly has represented India in over 400 international matches apart from leading the national side for five years. He would bring in vast experience as a player, captain, and then as a coach-mentor. He was the chairman of the BCCI technical committee and has been a media personality for many years.

However, former Indian captain will have to demit his post in September, 2020 as he will go into compulsory cooling off period, according to BCCI rules.

Similarly, Jay Shah, Gujarat Cricket Association joint secretary until recently and son of India’s home minister Amit Shah, is in position to be the new BCCI secretary.

Brijesh Patel, the former India batsman and experienced administrator who has served in various positions at the Karnataka State Cricket Association and BCCI over the years, is expected to become the new IPL chairman.

Meanwhile, former BCCI President Anurag Thakur’s brother Arun Dhumal from the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association’s is likely to become the treasurer while Kerala Cricket Association’s Jayesh George is set to become the new Joint Secretary.

Former India coach Anhsuman Gaekwad beat Kirti Azad to be elected as the male ICA representative on BCCI’s nine-member Apex Council. Shanta Rangaswamy was earlier elected unopposed as the female ICA representative.

Notably, all the associations have come together and made these decisions in unanimity. As a result of which, these candidates are expected to be uncontested in the elections. Monday is the last date for filing the nominations for the elections, which is set to take place on October 23.

When the new office bearers assume office, it will end a 33-month term of the Committee of Administrators, which called the shots in running the cricket affairs in the country after the Lodha Committee reforms.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker