TDP’s toppling games at the Centre fall flat

In a fast-paced political development, N Chandrababu Naidu led TDP on Friday quit the NDA and moved a No-Confidence Motion against the Modi-government but two other Southern parties -TRS and AIADMK — played spoilsport to the Opposition move in the Lok Sabha upsetting the games of other opposition parties including Congress, Trinamool Congress and the Left.

The first No-Confidence Motion against the Modi Government, moved by Thota Narasimham of the TDP and Y V Subba Reddy of YSRCP, could not be taken up as Speaker Sumitra Mahajan maintained that there should be order in the House to take the head count.

The No-Confidence motion in the Lok Sabha can be accepted only if there is support of at least 50 members.
As soon as the Speaker said she was duty -bound to take up the No-Confidence Motion, several Left,

Congress, Samajwadi Party and Trinamool Congress members and Asauddin Owaisi of AIMIM were up on their feet rendering support to the motion moved by the two Andhra-based parties. But, Mahajan said the House should be in order to take up the motion. She requested the slogan shouting AIADMK and Telengana Rashtra Samithi members who were in the Well, to return to their seats.

TRS members led by K Kavitha carried placards and raised slogans demanding raise in reservation quota for Muslims and for linking MGNREGA scheme to the farm sector while the AIADMK lawmakers were demanding setting up of Cauvery Management Board.

As the request from the Chair did not yield desired result, the Speaker adjourned the House till Monday.

Several Opposition Members from the Left, RJD and others were not happy with the Speaker’s decision and waved hands in negation.

The Opposition jubilation came more as an anti-climax as from the morning they were in upbeat mood buoyed by the victory in the bypolls wherein RJD member Sarfaraz Alam from Araria (Bihar) and two Samajwadi Party MPs ,Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel from Phulpur and Pravin Kumar Nishad have been elected from Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh.

Earlier in the day, the TDP announced quitting BJP-led alliance within a week of its two Union ministers – Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y S Chowdary — resigning from the union Council of ministers.

The TDP decision is, however, seen as a knee-jerk reaction to the YSRCP member Y V Subba Reddy
announcing on Thursday that he would move a No-Confidence motion to press for Special Category
Status for Andhra Pradesh.

In fact, YSRCP chief Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy took a potshot on TDP leadership and tweeted “even if guided by political compulsion, TDP had to yet again follow YSRCP’s lead of moving no confidence motion against the Central Govt for not granting SCS to AP. Win for democracy & people of AP.”

Owaisi also tweeted saying that he has signed on the No-Confidence Motion and said his party will support the motion not only for the failure to give Special Category Status to Andhra but also “failure to fulfill their (Modi government) promise to provide employment to youth and for injustice to Muslim women and minority.”

In a similar message on micro-blogging site, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee welcomed the TDP decision to part ways with the NDA and appealed to ”all political parties in the opposition to work closely together against atrocities, economic calamity and political instability”.

The BJP has termed TDP’s move ‘inevitable’ with party spokesperson G V L Narsimha Rao saying “Far from being a threat, TDP’s exit is a timely opportunity for the BJP to grow in Andhra Pradesh”.

Congress leaders Shashi Tharoor wondered why was the government running away from taking up No-Confidence Motion in the House where it has a brute majority.

“Fifty members need to stand up to support the No-Confidence Motion and 50 members stood up and Speaker said the House was not in order, what does government fear,” he said.


Savio Rodrigues

Savio Rodrigues Founder & Editor-in-Chief

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker