Current AffairsIndia

Telangana: MLC elections to two graduates’ constituencies begin

Hyderabad: Polling to the Telangana Legislative Council from two Graduates’ constituencies where the multi-cornered contest is being witnessed, began on Sunday amidst tight security.

The polling which commenced at 0800 hrs will be ended at 1600 hrs for Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam- Nalgonda Graduates’ constituencies.

Over 10 lakh graduates would be exercising their franchise at 1,530 polling stations, where jumbo-sized ballot boxes set up in both segments in view of a large number of candidates in the fray.

As many as 93 candidates are contesting from the Hyderabad constituency while 71 nominees are in the fray from the Nalgonda constituency.

The entire scenario of the polls is being monitored by the election commission which has commissioned the boxes amid the CCTV coverage and webcasting of the polls.

TRS fielded former Prime Minister PV Narasimha Rao’s daughter S Vani Devi, an educationist as its candidate from Mahaubnagar-Rangareddy- Hyderabad Graduates’ constituency.

The constituency is witnessing a keen contest as sitting MLC and BJP leader N Ramachander Rao, former Minister G Chinna Reddy (Congress), TDP’s Telangana Unit President L Ramana and former MLC K Nageshwar, a prominent analyst and other are also in the fray.

The TRS fielded sitting MLC Palla Rajeshwar Reddy from Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Graduates’ constituency segment while the BJP candidate is G Premender Reddy. Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) leader M Kondandaram is in the fray from the constituency.

The counting of votes would be taken up on March 17.

TRS working president and municipal minister KT Rama Rao cast his vote in the polling booth at #Shaikpet Tahsildar office in Hyderabad- Ranga Reddy- Mahbubnagar Graduate MLC constituency.

He appealed to all the graduate voters to come out and vote.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker