Current AffairsIndia

Voting begins for bypoll to Nizamabad Local Authorities constituency (MLC) in Telangana

Hyderabad: Polling began for the by-election to the Nizamabad Local Authorities Constituency (MLC), amid Covid-19 protocol, on Friday.

The voting which began at 9 am will end at 5 pm. The results will be announced on October 12.
The bypoll was necessitated after the sitting MLC R Bhoopathi Reddy was disqualified in January along with two other MLCs, as they defected from TRS to the Congress.

A total of 824 voters were eligible to cast their votes and among them, 483 electors will cast their vote in Nizamabad and 341 in Kamareddy district.

As many as 50 polling stations in 50 Mandal headquarters have been set up in the erstwhile Nizamabad, 28 polling stations have been arranged at Nizamabad and 22 stations at Kamareddy.

More than 300 employees have been roped in for the polling duty.
The bypoll was originally scheduled to be held on April 7. However, due to the lockdown in view of COVID-19, the Election Commission had postponed it for today.

The MLC seat was the centre of attention since Chief Minister, K Chandrasekhar Rao’s daughter and former Nizamabad MP Kalvakuntla Kavitha is one among the three candidates who are in the fray.

BJP candidate, P Laxminarayana and Congress candidate, Vaddepally Subash Reddy were the other candidates.
Section 144 of CrPC had been imposed at polling stations and no vehicles will be allowed near to the polling centres.

All voters have to undergo thermal scanning and four PPE kits will be provided to each polling station in view of Covid pandemic.

As many as 24 voters, who tested positive for Covid, will be allowed to cast their votes through postal ballot or they can vote at polling stations by wearing PPE kits at the end of polling hours from 4 pm to 5 pm.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker