Current AffairsIndia

Voting begins for bypolls on Madhupur seat of Jharkhand Assembly

Deoghar: Amid elaborate security arrangements, polling has commenced for the bypolls on Madhupur seat of Jharkhand Assembly on Saturday.

More than 3.21 lakh voters are eligible to vote in the elections who will be deciding the future of six candidates among whom four are Independents while the main battle is between Hafizul Hasan of the JMM and Ganga Narayan Singh of the BJP.

The number of eligible voters in Madhupur is 3,21,193 which includes 1,69,754 male and 1,51,439 female.

The election commission has announced an increase of one hour in the voting time for the bypolls and the eligible voters will be able to vote from 0700 hrs to 1800hrs.

For the bypolls in Madhupur apart from 409 polling booths, 78 additional booths have been built as due to the instructions of ECI at such polling booths where the number of voters is more than 1000 an additional booth will be made.

The counting of votes will be held on May 2.

In the Assembly Elections which were held in December 2019 from Madhupur seat JMM candidate Haji Hussain Ansari had emerged victorious.

He was later inducted into the Hemant Soren cabinet as a minorities welfare minister, however the senior JMM leader got infected with coronavirus and despite defeating the deadly disease, he passed away due to other health-related ailments on October 3, 2020 at Medanta Hospital after which the seat became vacant

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker