Current AffairsIndia

Voting for third and final phase begins in Assam

Guwahati: Voting for the third and final phase of Assam elections commenced at 0700 hrs on Monday with voters queuing up many polling centres to cast their votes at the crack of the dawn.

A total of 79, 19,641 voters will decide the fate of 337 candidates in the 40 assembly segments spread over the 12 districts in Lower Assam.

Four constituencies of the capital town Guwahati is also going to polls in the final phase of elections. There are six seats reserved for STs and two for SCs.

There are 25 women candidates in the fray.

Of the 79,19,641 voters, who are illegible to vote in phase III, 40,11,539 are males, 39,07,963 females and 139 transgenders.

The constituency having the highest number of electors in Phase-3 is Dispur with 607 polling booths having 4, 11,636 electors.

The constituency having the lowest number of electors in Phase-III is Chapaguri in Baksa with 236 polling stations having 1, 59,257 voters.

The seats are spread across 12 districts including three in the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR).

The fate of many politicians including BJP’ star campaigner Himanta Biswa Sarma who is contesting from Jalukbari will get sealed in the ballot box.

Others who are in the fray include Chandra Mohan Patowary from Dharampur, Siddhartha Bhattacharya from Gauhati East, Asom Gana Parishad’s Phanibhushan Choudhury from Bongaigaon, BJP state chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass from Patacharkuchi, Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar-East and Kokrajhar MP Naba Sarania from Barama.

The fate of 20 sitting MLAs, including eight from the Congress, five from the BJP, three each from the AIUDF and BPF and one from AGP, will be decided in the final phase.

The voting will started at 0700 hrs and will conclude at 1800 hrs.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker